'The Hitch Hiker's Guide
to the Galaxy'
(The Movie)

by Garth Jennings
and Karey Kirkpatrick

based on the novel and first screenplay by Douglas Adams

When Arthur Dent, a six-foot-tall ape descendant, wakes up one morning he is rather alarmed to discover that his nice house is about to be demolished to make way for a new bypass. However, this not insignificant problem soon becomes the least of Arthur’s problems after his friend Ford Prefect tells him three important facts: one – Ford is not from Guildford after all, but is instead from a small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse; two – that he works as a writer for a best-selling intergalactic reference book called ‘The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’; and three - the world is about to end…

Martin Freeman (Arthur Dent), Mos Def (Ford Prefect), Sam Rockwell (Zaphod Beeblebrox), Zooey Deschanel (Tricia McMillan ["Trillian"]), Bill Nighy (Slartibartfast), Warwick Davis (Marvin the Paranoid Android), Stephen Fry (The Book [Voice]), Bill Bailey (The Whale [Voice]), Mason Ball (Vogon Minion), Jane Belson (Extra), Jerome Blake (Vogon Guard), Anna Chancellor (Questular Rontok), Richard Coombs (Vogon High Command), Barry Dowden (Stunt Builder), Phillip Eason (Vogon High Command), Richard Griffiths (Jeltz, Vogon Captain [Voice]), Brian Herring (Vogon Minion), Mark Jefferis (Vogon High Command), Simon Jones (Magrathean Announcer), William Todd Jones (Vogon Captain), John Malkovich (Humma Kavula), Ian McNeice (Vogon Kwaltz [Voice]), Steve Pemberton (Mr. Prosser), Nigel Plaskitt (Vogon High Command), Alan Rickman (Marvin the Paranoid Android [Voice]), Katherine Smee (Vogon), James Thrift (Extra), Robert Tygner (Vogon High Command), Ben Uttley (Vogon Guard), Patrick Walker (Vogon Guard), Ray Donn (Humma Worshiper)*, Rich Johnston (Congregation)*, Polly Jane Adams (TBC), Jane Garnier (TBA)

Directed by Garth Jennings
Produced by Gary Barber, Roger Birnbaum, Jonathan Glickman, Nick Goldsmith and Jay Roach
Co-produced by Todd Arnow and Caroline Hewitt
Executive Producers Douglas Adams*, Derek Evans and Robbie Stamp

*(Posthumous credit)

Adapted from the B.B.C. Radio series

Release Date:
6th May 2005

*Featuring Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect, Zaphod Beeblebrox, Tricia "Trillian" McMillan and Marvin the Paranoid Android

Ford Prefect, Arthur Dent and Zaphod Beeblebrox What the heck have they done to Marvin?!?

Movie teaser

Movie poster